Need help with identifying a reptile or amphibian?

Send us an Email at: animal-identification@virginiaherpetologicalsociety.com

To improve the identification process, provide the following when possible:

  • Photos
  • Locality (county / town, address is ideal)
  • Place of encounter: Yard, house, pond, woods, etc.
  • Approximate size of the animal.
  • Disposition of animal: Observed, released, killed, etc.
  • If you are a VHS member (not required)

Also, consider joining our Facebook page at: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Virginia-Herpetological-Society/53153159887

Please keep in mind that we will respond as soon as possible, but responses may take several hours.

VHS Directory

Office Name Email Address Functions
President Matt Neff president@vaherpsociety.com All VHS business.
Vice President Travis Anthony vicepresident@vaherpsociety.com VHS business and meetings and surveys.
Secretary Dave Perry secretary@vaherpsociety.com All membership and monies questions.
Treasurer Matthew Close treasurer@vaherpsociety.com Keeping the finances healthy so the organization can achieve its mission.
Journal Editor Paul Sattler pwsattle@liberty.edu For submissions to, or questions about the VHS journal, Catesbeiana.
Newsletter Editor Bonnie Keller Newsletter@vaherpsociety.com For submissions to, or questions about the newsletter.
Education Committee Mike Clifford micliffo@vt.edu Public education and community outreach.
Survey Committee Jason Gibson frogman31@gmail.com Survey site selection and HerpBlitz planning.
Grants Committee Kory Steele grants@vaherpsociety.com All issues concerning grants.
Chair of the Regulatory Affairs Committee Larry Mendoza regulations@vaherpsociety.com All local and state regulatory issues.
Community Outreach Committee Michael Salotti outreach@vaherpsociety.com Memberships and community engangement.
Permits Committee Susan Watson outreach@vaherpsociety.com All issues regarding permits.
Online Store Manager Kelly Geer Merchandise@vaherpsociety.com For questions about the Cafepress.com online store
Past President Michael Salotti past-president@vaherpsociety.com General support for all positions.

To report any website issues or for inquiries regarding the use of any website material contact: VHS.Webmaster[AT]verizon.net


Box Turtle Reporting

VHS Amazon Smile

Spadefoot Reporting